The Molesey Residents Association is a non-party political organisation which aims to protect and enhance the amenities and the environment of East and West Molesey.

Letter to the Molesey News and Mail about Car Parking Charges

Letter from Councillor Mike Axton

To: The Editor, Molesey News and Mail

I would like to respond to the letter from David Wright (News and Mail, 30 May) about the Molesey Residents Association (MRA) and the introduction of car park charges in Molesey.

It is disappointing that Mr Wright continues to maintain that the MRA supported charges in Molesey. This is simply not the case. We opposed charges precisely because of the undesirable knock on effects, which we predicted at the time, and are now seeing. But in the end a majority of Council’s 60 members decided to bring them in against our wishes. Since then we have focussed on trying to secure better arrangements for Molesey.

What is not explained in Mr Wright’s letter is the fact that the key decision to introduce charges throughout Elmbridge was taken by the Council back in December 2004. And at that meeting MRA and Walton Society Councillors proposed that if charges were to be introduced, the lower rate of charging should apply equally to all the Borough’s car parks. It is regrettable that our proposal was rejected by other Councillors. The fact is that if David Wright and his fellow Conservative Councillors had supported us, the charge for using Molesey car park would now be 25p, instead of the 50p rate imposed by the current Elmbridge Cabinet.

What is important now is how we can work together to improve the current situation to the benefits local residents and shopkeepers. We still believe that if we must have charges it should be at the lower 25p rate that applies in places like Claygate. We also want free parking reinstated on Saturdays. Instead of prolonging this debate we want to work with Conservative colleagues at Elmbridge Borough Council so that, together, we can bring this about.

Mike Axton
Molesey Residents Association Councillor